Community Resources

How do cities and communities share the resources?

We need many resources to live our daily lives. Many of them are provided by public agencies with different governing bodies and systems. They are funded by taxes, usage fees or combination of both. Some fundings are controlled by the Board of Supervisors. Communities do share these resources, and the agencies with blue links are governed by representatives we elect.

Budget includes Health Care Services (59% Behavioral Health Care Services, 15% Administration/Indigent Health, 12% Public Health), Public Assistance (38% Workforce and Benefits, 23% Children/Family, 22% Adult and Aging), and Public Protection (55% Sheriff's Office, 23% Probation, 11% District Attorney). Open Budget 2021

Operating budget of $3.5 billion a year

The Alameda County Board of Education serves as the governing board for the schools and student services and programs operated by the County Superintendent of Schools.

  • Area 1 - Albany, Berkeley, Emeryville, and portions of Oakland that include North Oakland, Temescal, Rockridge, and the northern portion of West Oakland

  • Area 2 - City of Alameda and parts of Oakland, including the southern portion of West Oakland, all of Jack London Square, Downtown, and Chinatown, part of Fruitvale, the Oakland hills south of Redwood Rd., and East Oakland south of Seminary Avenue and 66th Avenue

  • Area 3 - Piedmont and portions of Oakland, including the Oakland hills (from north of Claremont Avenue south to Redwood Road), East Lake, San Antonio, Fruitvale and part of East Oakland (north of Seminary Avenue)

  • Area 4 - San Leandro, the western portion of Dublin, and the unincorporated communities of San Lorenzo, Ashland, Castro Valley, Cherryland (northern portion), Fairview (northern portion) and Hayward Acres

  • Area 5 - Hayward, Union City, and the unincorporated communities of Cherryland (southern portion) and Fairview (southern portion)

  • Area 6 - Newark and the northern and western portions of Fremont

  • Area 7 - Tri-Valley cities of Dublin (eastern portion), Pleasanton, and Livermore, the unincorporated communities of Sunol and Mountain House, and the southeastern portion of Fremont

Public colleges and universities

We have a few colleges in the county and they are governed by 3 college districts. Universities are not governed locally.

Peralta Community College Districts


  • East Bay Community Energy: Not-for-profit public power agency to provide more renewable energy at competitive rates to the East Bay customers.

  • PG&E: Investor owned utility company who manages electricity infrastructure and gas delivery.

Fire Protection

Flood Control & Water Conservation



Housing Authorities

  • The Housing Authority of the County of Alameda (HACA) operates a number of programs funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) that provide rental housing or rental assistance for low-income families, the elderly, people with disabilities, and others, in much of Alameda County.
    HACA’s Governing Board is the Alameda County Board of Supervisors with the addition of two Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher tenants appointed by the Alameda County Board of Supervisors. HACA’s Governing Board has delegated almost all of its duties to the Housing Commission which provides policy guidance for HACA’s day-to-day operations.

  • Alameda Housing Authority

  • Berkeley Housing Authority

  • Livermore Housing Authority

  • Oakland Housing Authority

Law enforcement



  • Altamont Corridor Express (ACE®): Connects Stockton to San Jose. San Joaquin Regional Rail Commission (SJRRC) owns and operates and is the policy-making body for the Altamont Corridor Express (ACE®) service. SJRRC is governed by a Board of Directors which consists of six full-voting members from San Joaquin County and two special-voting members from Alameda County

  • Alameda - Contra Costa Transit District: Coastal cities and unincorporated area of Alameda and Contra Costa Counties

  • Livermore Amador Valley Transit Authority: Dublin, Livermore, Pleasanton, and in unincorporated areas of Alameda County

  • Valley Link: The Proposed Project is a new 42-mile, 7-station passenger rail project that will connect the existing Dublin/Pleasanton Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART) Station in Alameda County to the approved Altamont Corridor Express (ACE) North Lathrop Station in San Joaquin County utilizing existing transportation rights-of-way where feasible.

Water & Sewer Services